School of Nursing

KU School of Nursing faculty members inducted as AAN Fellows

Oct 21, 2011

Cynthia Teel, RN, PhD
The American Academy of Nursing (AAN) recently inducted Cynthia Teel, RN, PhD, KU School of Nursing professor and associate dean for graduate programs as a Fellow; and Nancy Dunton, PhD, KU School of Nursing research professor as an Honorary Fellow at the October annual conference.

Nancy Dunton, PhD
“Selection for membership in the Academy is one of the most prestigious honors in the field of nursing,” said Academy President Catherine L. Gilliss, DNSc, RN, FAAN. “Academy Fellows are truly experts. The Academy Fellowship represents the nation's top nurse researchers, policymakers, scholars, executives, educators and practitioners.”

Fellow selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care. Each nominee must be sponsored by two current Academy Fellows. The new Fellows are selected by a panel comprised of elected and appointed Fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent to which nominees' nursing careers influence health policies and health care delivery for the benefit of all Americans.

Designation as an Honorary Fellow in the Academy is awarded to individuals not eligible for regular Fellowship who are dedicated to the nursing profession and allows an individual to receive all the benefits of being an Academy Fellow. This honor includes induction into the esteemed Fellowship.

The Academy is made up of more than 1,600 nursing leaders in education, management, practice, policy and research. Leadership positions held by Academy Fellows include university presidents, chancellors and deans; state and federal political appointees; hospital chief executives and vice presidents for nursing; researchers and entrepreneurs; and practicing nurses.

Email this article | View All School of Nursing News | School of Nursing web site