School of Nursing

Nursing Recognition Ceremony Honors Student, Faculty Achievements

May 22, 2012

The University of Kansas School of Nursing Recognition Ceremony on May 12 recognized 14 graduating students with awards and honors. Members of the academic honor society for nursing, Sigma Theta Tau, were acknowledged for outstanding achievement. The ceremony, held at Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kan., also recognized exceptional faculty and clinicians.  In all, the KU School of Nursing graduated 237 students in 2012.


Daisy Awards – Undergraduate Teacher

Kathy Fletcher, PhD, RN


Daisy Awards – Graduate Teacher

Cindy Teel, PhD, RN


Phyllis Keeney Lawrence Teaching Award in Nursing

Mary Meyer, MS, RN


Day Award for High Distinction

Molly Adams, Spring Hill, Kan.

Morteza Rabii, Mission, Kan.


Dean’s Award

Katie Summers, Tulsa, Okla.


Colleen P. Kosiak Graduate Student Clinical Excellence Award 

Brett Michael Haynes, Overland Park, Kan.


Jeanne Quesenbury Award for Excellence in Clinical Skills

Reese Fauser, Merriam, Kan.


Registered Nurse Award

Nicole Stewart, Olathe, Kan.


Kay Schlichter Award for Undergraduate Leadership

Yara Neilsenschultz, Olathe, Kan.


Dr. Valmi Delfino De Sousa Award of Excellence for Dissertation Research

Besher Gharaibeh, Howara-Irbid, Jordan


Hester Thurston Award for Graduate Leadership

Regina Johnson, Overland Park, Kan.


Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society for Nursing, Delta chapter awards


Outstanding Senior

Elaine Davis, Roeland Park, Kan.



Master’s Award for Leadership

Michael Hastings, Bonner Springs, Kan.


Doctoral Award for Leadership

Brenda Tyczkowski, Hobart, Wis.


University of Kansas Nurses Alumni Awards


Outstanding Senior Award

Taylor Nicole Buckler, Kansas City, Mo.

Elaine Davis, Roeland Park, Kan.


E. Jean. M. Hill Award for Outstanding Clinical Performance

Anna Thomas, Mission, Kan.


Ruth O. McKibben Alumni Research Award

Besher Gharaibeh, Howara-Irbid, Jordan


Henrietta Froehlke Award for Leadership

Michael Hastings, Bonner Springs, Kan.


Jayhawker RN Instructor Awards


Lecture Award

Jill Peltzer, MS, RN


Clinical Award

Nancy Barr, MS, RN

Email this article | View All School of Nursing News | School of Nursing web site